Skip to main content


GED (General Education Development) tests

The GED tests are a group of four subject tests: Language Arts, Mathematical Reasoning, Science, and Social Studies. Passing these tests, individually or all at once, the test taker is certified to have high school academic skills. Those who pass all of the tests receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

Testing centers throughout California give the test many times during the year. The GED test covers five subjects: reading, writing, math, science, and social studies. There is a fee to take the test.

GED information - start by creating an account

GED test Prep Information- a great resource which compares the GED online test prep programs

CHSPE (California High School Proficiency Exam)

The CHSPE is a voluntary test which assesses proficiency in basic reading, writing, and mathematics. Students who are 16-17 years old or who are under 16 but have completed their sophomore year of high school are eligible to take the CHSPE. Those who pass the tests receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate and are eligible to enroll in Community College and may be excused from the Compulsory Education requirements for minors (under 18).

CHSPE information